Chamber Arts Awards March 21 to celebrate Rick Steves, Art Walk, and more

March 8, 2013 – For Immediate Release [DOWNLOAD PDF OF PRESS RELEASE]


Barbara Kindness, Mike Popke, Rick Steves/Europe Through the Back Door, Manya Vee Selects among winners.


Edmonds, WA It’s time to celebrate the Chamber Arts Award winners at a ceremony on March 21, 7:30 p.m., at Edmonds Conference Center. Winners are local arts heroes Barbara Kindness, Mike Popke, Manya Vee Selects (now MaJe Gallery), and Rick Steves/Europe Through the Back Door, KCTS, Cascade Symphony Orchestra and Edmonds Center for the Arts.

If you’ve been on an Art Walk or enjoyed a show by the Driftwood Players, you know Edmonds is an arts town. But the behind-the-scenes effort to create and sustain an arts community requires volunteers and collaborators who value culture above personal gain. These arts awards are the Chamber’s acknowledgement of exemplary service in sustaining and creating arts programs in Edmonds.

The public is invited to attend the awards ceremony and celebrate our local winners, which are:

  • Business Leadership Award: Manya Vee Selects (now MaJe Gallery)
    for the Art Walk and Mural Society.
  • Creative Collaboration Award: Rick Steves/Europe Through the Back Door,
    KCTS, Cascade Symphony Orchestra and Edmonds Center for the Arts
    for “Europe: A Symphonic Journey.”
  • Individual Leadership Award: Mike Popke of Lynnwood Honda for
    encouraging partnerships between business and the arts.
  • Individual Volunteer Award: Barbara Kindness for supporting
    and sustaining arts and culture.

Nominations were received from the general public and the selection was made by the Chamber Arts & Culture.  Committee members are: Mary Lou Block, Edmonds Port Commissioner; Frances Chapin, City of Edmonds Cultural Services Manager; Valerie Claypool, Edmonds Chamber of Commerce Membership and Events Director; Keith Gehrig, Driftwood Players Office Manager; Jamie Herlich, Chamber Board Member and Edmonds Center for the Arts Director of Advancement; Gretchen Johnston, Director of Community Education at Edmonds Community College, Jack Loos, Edmonds Chamber of Commerce 1st Vice President; Darlene McLellan, Edmonds Arts Festival Foundation President; Samantha Saether, Edmonds Art Commission; Janette Turner, My Edmonds News Arts Reporter and EPIC Group Writers President.  Individual committee members were not eligible for awards.

Those who plan to attend the awards ceremony are asked to please RSVP at or email More information is available on the Edmonds Chamber website.


Promoting the economic vitality of Edmonds through advocacy, leadership, education and community-building events.